Travel To Malaysia During MCO


1. Who should I liaise if I want to return to Malaysia?
It is under the custodian of Student Support & Advocacy Department, Centre of Student Experience. Please liaise with the person in charge for further details:

- Erwan Syah bin Abdullah -

   You also may liaise with the PIC below for other related inquiries:

Department Matter PIC
CSE/UTP Returning Procedure Mr. Erwan Syah bin Abdullah
(REG/UTP) Admission/New Application for New students/VAL Ms. Nur Syafiqah M Sharin
(REG/UTP)  VISA matters for Existing Student Mr. Raja Shoman B Raja Rosdin
(CGS/UTP) GA/GRA Mr. M Izzat B Yaacob


2. Can I have more information on the procedure?

All the travelers are subjected to a compulsory quarantine for fourteen (14) days upon arrival to Malaysia at the designated station set by the Malaysian Government. All the costs need to be borne by the travelers, which is estimated at around RM 5000++. Student needs to register with UTP first and apply for a Travel Authorization through EMGS where the approval is given by the Malaysian Immigration Department Director-General. For new students, the travel authorization will be issued together with the electronic Visa Approval Letter (eVAL).

It is a lengthy process where it can take up to 1-2 months before the approval is granted. You can refer to this link for a better understanding of the procedure. For further details, please liaise with the respected personnel.


3. What is the validity of the Travel Authorization obtained?

The validity period for Travel Authorization approvals issued via EMGS is as follows:

a. Existing Students – 3 months from the date of issuance.

b. New Students (New Applications) – 6 months from the date of issuance.
The Travel Authorization approvals are issued together with the Electronic Visa Approval Letter (eVAL) and the expiry date is co-terminus with the expiry date of the eVAL.


4. Temporary Restriction Imposed by the Malaysian Government

All the travelers from the countries below are banned to enter Malaysia at the moment:

a. India

b. Pakistan

c. Bangladesh

d. Sri Lanka

e. Nepal

f. United Kingdom

   The list are subject to change based on the latest pandemic situation in Malaysia and the world.